NBA Defensive Player of the Year Odds 2024

Mike Barner
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2023

While there is still the possibility that James Harden or Damian Lillard could get traded, most teams have finalized their rosters as the NBA season approaches.

With teams having taken shape, it’s time to start thinking about who could win individual awards.

Let’s dig into the NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award odds and highlight some possible wagering options.


NBA odds used for these Defensive Player of the Year best bets are current as of Monday, Aug. 28, and courtesy of Caesars Sportsbook.

  • Jaren Jackson Jr. (+500)
  • Evan Mobley (+650)
  • Anthony Davis (+1000)
  • Rudy Gobert (+1000)
  • Bam Adebayo (+1000)
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo (+1000)
  • Walker Kessler (+1500)
  • Brook Lopez (+1500)
  • Nicolas Claxton (+1500)
  • Draymond Green (+2000)
  • Mikal Bridges (+2000)
  • Joel Embiid (+2000)

Outside of Jackson and Mobley, every player has at least 10-1 odds to win this award. There are also a lot of centers on the list, despite a point guard in Marcus Smart winning the award just two seasons ago.

There are also a lot of familiar faces among the leaders in odds. Jackson, Gobert, Antetokounmpo, and Green are all previous winners. Gobert has won the award three times.

Who Will Win NBA DPOY in 2024?

Jaren Jackson Jr., Memphis Grizzlies (+500)

Few players in the league can pile up defensive stats like Jackson.

Last season, he averaged a career-high 3.0 blocks and 1.0 steals per game to win his first Defensive Player of the Year Award. He did so despite being limited to 63 games because of injury.

Jackson should be a perennial option for this award based on his shot-blocking prowess. Two seasons ago, he averaged 2.3 blocks while appearing in 78 games. He has also averaged at least 0.9 steals in four of his five seasons in the league.

With Ja Morant dealing with a suspension to begin the season, Jackson will likely be one of the players who is looked upon for added contributions. What’s crazy about his production last season is that he only averaged 28 minutes per game. If he were to average more than 30 minutes a game, it would be difficult to envision anyone else surpassing him for this award.

NBA DPOY Favorites

Evan Mobley, Cleveland Cavaliers (+650)

Mobley didn’t make as much progress on the offensive end of the floor as the Cavaliers would have probably liked from him last season. However, he still provided 0.8 steals and 1.5 blocks per game.

His ability to defend multiple positions is a huge bonus and was one of the main reasons he was selected with the third overall pick in the 2021 NBA Draft.

Heading into this season, Mobley is slated to start alongside center Jarrett Allen, who averaged 0.8 steals and 1.2 blocks per game himself last season.

Mobley has the skill set to win a Defensive Player of the Year Award at some point in his career. However, that might not happen until he starts at center and Allen is on another team.

Anthony Davis, Los Angeles Lakers (+1000)

Davis is one of the most talented players in the league, regardless of position.

He can dominate a game on both ends of the floor, which he showed last season by putting up 25.9 points, 12.5 rebounds, 1.1 steals, and 2.0 blocks per game. That marked the ninth time in his career that he averaged at least one steal and two blocks per game.

The problem with Davis has been his inability to stay healthy. He appeared in just 56 games last season and hasn’t played at least 70 games since the 2017-18 season.

The Lakers want to win a title, and they need Davis healthy to do that. Expect them to be cautious with any injury he may suffer so that he is ready by the time the playoffs roll around.

That uncertainty puts him in a difficult position to win this award.

NBA DPOY Contenders

Rudy Gobert, Minnesota Timberwolves (+1000)

Gobert has already won this award three times. He most recently earned it during the 2020-21 campaign when he was still a member of the Jazz.

In his prime, Gobert completely shut down the paint. After his rookie campaign, he averaged at least 2.0 blocks in eight straight seasons.

Gobert saw his numbers take a hit last season — he averaged 1.4 blocks per game — as a member of the Timberwolves. Fellow big man Karl-Anthony Towns only appeared in 29 games, so it’s not as if he was a huge hindrance.

At 31 years old, Gobert’s days of winning this award might be over.

Bam Adebayo, Miami Heat (+1000)

Adebayo’s contributions on the defensive end don’t always come out in the stats.

Last season, he provided a modest 1.2 steals and 0.8 blocks per game. He has never averaged more than 1.3 blocks per game, and he has averaged at least one steal and at least one block just twice during his six-season career.

Still, Adebayo is one of the top contenders for this award because of his versatility. He is also the defensive anchor for one of the better defensive teams in the league.

The problem is he may never compile juicy enough stats to overtake players like Jackson and Davis.

NBA DPOY Sleepers

Mikal Bridges, Brooklyn Nets (+2000)

The Nets will begin their rebuild with Bridges at the center of it. He took his game to another level after being acquired from the Suns.

In 27 games with Brooklyn, he averaged 26.1 points, 4.5 rebounds, 2.5 three-pointers, 1.0 steals, and 0.6 blocks. One factor that helps Bridges is that he plays a ton. He logged 34 minutes per game with the Nets and has played at least 33 minutes per game in each of the last three seasons.

The Villanova product can defend multiple positions and relishes the challenge of trying to slow down the opposing team’s best scorer. If he can find a way to average around 1.5 steals and 1.0 blocks per game, he could overcome these longer odds.

Jrue Holiday, Milwaukee Bucks (+3000)

Holiday is one of the best defensive point guards in the league, if not the best.

Heading into last season, he had six straight seasons with at least 1.5 steals per game. He has averaged at least 1.5 steals in a season 11 times. That made his 1.2 steals per game last year a disappointment, registering as his lowest mark since his rookie campaign.

As is the case with Davis, injuries have often held Holiday back from DPOY contention. He hasn’t appeared in more than 67 games since the 2017-18 season.

Holiday is also somewhat overshadowed by his teammate Giannis Antentokounmpo, who has won this award previously.

However, at these odds, it could be worth taking a chance on the veteran having a healthy campaign and finally being recognized for his defensive chops.

Previous NBA DPOY Winners

2023: Jaren Jackson Jr., Memphis Grizzlies

2022: Marcus Smart, Boston Celtics

2021: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz

2020: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks

2019: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz

2018: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz

2017: Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors

2016: Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

2015: Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

2014: Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls


Mike Barner

Mike started covering fantasy sports in 2007. In addition to The Game Day, Mike has written for RotoWire, Sportsline, Sports Illustrated, DK Live, and RealTime Fantasy Sports. In 2018, he was a finalist for the 2018 FSWA Basketball Writer of the Year award.

Related articles